Oodles of Noodles

How is everyone doing today?  Its an amazingly beautiful day here.

I am a huge fan of pasta.  Penne and Farfalle are my favorite shapes, and I dislike elbows immensely.  Not the taste, because they basically all taste the same.  I find elbow macaroni really difficult to eat.  Sorry, I’m on a tangent, I’ll get off.

I found a great recipe the other day for egg-less pasta.  Egg-less pasta is great for people who need to watch their cholesterol, or for one reason or another, don’t eat eggs.

I found the recipe on food.com here: http://www.food.com/recipe/basic-pasta-dough-no-egg-360234, posted by someone called JoeyV.

I followed the directions and the pasta came out wonderfully.  I didn’t have the full 3 cups of flour that the recipe calls for, so I reduced it.  I also used regular canola oil, instead of olive oil.

I’ll paste it here, for anyone who can’t follow the link back to the original.

Basic Pasta Dough (No Egg) Recipe

Total Time: 2 Hours

Prep Time: 2 Hours

Cook Time: 0 mins

JoeyV‘s Note:  This recipe yields the equivalent of about 1-1/2 lbs of dry pasta, and can be used to make 4 dozen raviolis.

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups flour
  • 1 cup warm water
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil

Servings: 4

Directions:

  1. Put flour in large mixing bowl, making a well in the center.
  2. Add wet ingredients to well and very slowly mix together with a fork, incorporating only a little flour at a time so it mixes smoothly and evenly. Trust me, the more patient you are with this the better it will turn out.
  3. Continue kneading by hand for about 10 minutes, let rest for a half hour covered with a towel. Repeat a couple times until dough is smooth and silky, and just slightly sticky.
  4. Shape by hand or with a machine.
  5. Note: Boiling fresh pasta takes significantly less time than dry pasta. Depending on the shape, cook for 30 seconds to 2 minutes.
 

 

 

The ingredients gathered.

The ingredients gathered.

A ball of dough, ready to be cut and shaped.

A ball of dough, ready to be cut and shaped.

It came out beautifully.  And tasted delicious, which is the more important thing! 

I plan to make a bunch of this dough and freeze it for when I’m running low on money and groceries.  You wrap the dough in plastic and put it in an airtight container.  It will keep for several months.  When you want to use one, just take it out, thaw it and use it as you would fresh dough.  You can use this dough as a substitute for any store-bought dough.

When you first start to knead, it will be lumpy, but soon it will smooth out and feel soft, silky, and only slightly sticky.  Make sure you coat the work surface and your hands with flour while kneading or it will stick to them.

If you try it out, let me know how it comes out.  I hope you enjoyed this post.  Have a wonderful day!

 

Leave a Reply

